High resolution downloads

Elim Chan

“A rare example of a young conductor at once brilliant and not in the least showing off.” The Sunday Times on Elim Chan

Educated at Smith College and the University of Michigan, Elim Chan has been Principal Conductor of the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra since the 2019/2020 season and Principal Guest Conductor of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra since 2018/2019.

For Elim Chan, conducting is like magic, her baton is a musical magic wand: she is always fascinated by the interplay of different voices, which become a whole through her vision. In her music she creates unheard worlds full of daring, fantasy and emotion.

In the current season she debuts f.e. with the Boston and St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, the ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Oslo Philharmonic and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. In 2014, Elim Chan became the first woman to win the renowned Donatella Flick LSO Conducting Competition. Highlights of past seasons include Elim Chan’s appearances with the Philharmonia Orchestra London, the Orchester National de Lyon, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Gstaad Festival Orchestra and the Deutsches Sinfonieorchester Berlin. She has also worked with the Toronto, Detroit and Chicago symphony orchestras, the Mariinsky Orchestra, the Lucerne Festival Academy Orchestra, the Orchester Philharmonique du Luxembourg, the National Orchestra of Belgium and the National Arts Center Orchestra in Ottawa.

Hochauflösende Downloads

Elim Chan

„Das seltene Beispiel einer jungen Dirigentin, die brillant ist, ohne dabei auch nur im Mindesten effekthascherisch zu agieren.“ The Sunday Times über Elim Chan

Die am Smith College und an der University of Michigan ausgebildete Elim Chan ist seit der Saison 2019/2020 Chefdirigentin des Antwerp Symphony Orchestra und seit 2018/2019 Principal Guest Conductor des Royal Scottish National Orchestra. 

Für Elim Chan ist Dirigieren wie Magie, ihr Baton ein musikalischer Zauberstab: Immer ist sie fasziniert vom Zusammenspiel verschiedener Stimmen, die durch ihre Vision zu einem Ganzen werden. In ihrer Musik erschafft sie ungehörte Welten voller Wagemut, Fantasie und Emotion.

In der aktuellen Saison debütiert sie u. a. beim Boston und beim St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, beim Mahler Chamber Orchestra, dem ORF Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien, dem Oslo Philharmonic und dem Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. 2014 gewann Elim Chan als erste Frau den renommierten Donatella Flick Conducting Competition. Zu den Höhepunkten vergangener Spielzeiten zählen Elim Chans Auftritte mit dem Philharmonia Orchestra London, dem Orchestre National de Lyon, dem Los Angeles Philharmonic, dem Gstaad Festival Orchestra und dem Deutschen Sinfonieorcherster Berlin. Zudem arbeitete sie bereits mit den Sinfonieorchestern von Toronto, Detroit und Chicago zusammen, außerdem mit dem Mariinsky Orchestra, dem Lucerne Festival Academy Orchestra, dem Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, dem National Orchestra of Belgium und dem National Arts Centre Orchestra in Ottawa.